Light after dark

When You carried me through the dark night
Lifted my head for me to see the light
Of that star that guided me so long ago
I didn’t realize, I didn’t know

 

There would be an end to feeling numb
To feeling like a failure, useless, dumb
To have a purpose in my life again
That overrides this awful, crippling pain.

 

You moved my hands to help reach out
You woke me up from that pit-black cloud
To realize that Your Strength, not mine
Is what enables me to shine.

 

I had to lose what pride was left in me
To be able to clearly see
That You are the One Who knows the Way
Even on the darkest, emptiest day.

 

So help me, Lord, to be your candle
To give up thinking I can handle
Whatever life decides to throw at me
For I cannot, now I can  see.

 

It is Your Mercy, your Love and your Grace
That got me out of that horrible place
To be for others what You need me to be
And of depression be, from now on, free.

 

30.11.2016

 

G.

Leave a comment